Posted by: Hendra Siry | 31 December, 2007

EMBC – Erasmus Mundus Master of Science in Marine Biodiversity and Conservation

The Erasmus Mundus master of Science in Marine Biodiversity and Conservation (EMBC) is offered by a University consortium consisting of 6 partners : Ghent University (Belgium), University of Bremen (Germany), University of Pierre et Marie Curie – Paris 6 (France), University of the Algarve (Portugal), University of Oviedo (Spain) and University of Klaipèda (Lithuania). This program is a 2 year master course program.


The study programme is divided in 3 thematic modules:

  1. Understanding the structure and function of marine biodiversity deals with the fundamental aspects of Oceanography (on a multidisciplinary basis, including physics, chemistry, geology, biology, ecology, biogeography, climate change), the structure and functioning of Marine Biodiversity (from genes to habitats) and with Impact studies (at least 24 ECTS).
  2. Toolbox for investigating marine biodiversity provides an advanced training in Statistics and experimental design, Modelling, Taxonomy, Data and Information Management, Field observations and interpretation and Molecular methods (at least 20 ECTS).
  3. Conservation and Restoration of marine biodiversity deals with the application of the above mentioned theories and methods in order to develop a sustainable use of the marine environment (at least 10 ECTS).

The programme (2 years or 120 ECTS) is complemented with summer schools on specialized topics in European Marine Research Stations operating within the EU-Network of Excellence MarBEF. A research project (Master thesis) of 30 ECTS is presented within the field of one of the three thematic areas. Transferable skills (including training in native languages, scientific communication, research management) is provided as well. Elective courses count for 20 ECTS.

Student mobility is an integral part of the Master. 50 students (25 third country students and 25 European students) start in one of the three group I Universities (Gent, Bremen or Algarve) for 2 semesters; for the third semester, students move to one of the group II Universities (Paris, Oviedo or Klaipèda). The research project for the thesis work can be performed in one of the partner institutions.
The language of instruction is English. During the study period, the ‘survival’ languages (Dutch, German, Portuguese, French, Spanish or Lithuanian) can be studied as well. Successful students obtain the qualification and degree of Erasmus Mundus Master of Science in Marine Biodiversity and Conservation. This joint degree will be awarded and recognized by each of the participating institutions. Details of the thematic modules and research projects are provided in a Diploma Supplement.

The course is open to students with at least a bachelor (or Master) degree in biology, ecology, environmental sciences, oceanography, marine sciences, geography, geology, or other equivalent degrees with minimum 180 credits.
 

Website: http///embc.marbef.org
Partners:
Ghent University, Belgium (Co-ordinating Institution)
University Pierre et Marie Curie – Paris 6, France
University of Oviedo, Spain
Klaipeda University, Lithuania
University of Bremen, Germany
University of the Algarve, Portugal

Contact:
Magda Vincx
Ghent University
Krijgslaan 281, building S8
BE-9000 Gent, BELGIUM


Responses

  1. I am emailing you frome Eritrea, a country on the Red sea coast. By the fund of the GEF/UNDP, a conservation and biodiversity survay project was active in the last five years coll it Eritrean coastal, Marine and Island conservation project. the project was survaing the current status of the marine habitate of the Eritrean red sea coast in all aspects thats is on corals, turtles, sea grasses and macro algae, mangroves and marne birds. i am one of the team member of the project working on the coral reef and reef fish survay team leader. So naw I want to ask you to get some publication apportunity conserning the current status of coral reefs and reef fishe on the Eitreans red sea area. I hope to get positive response soon and the way I have to submit you my results. thanx.
    yonas

  2. Dear Sir

    With due respect I would like to inform you that I am a Bangladeshi national. I have completed my B.Sc. Fisheries (Hon’s) graduation degree from Bangladesh Agricultural University, a renowned university in Bangladesh and also completed my MS degree in Fisheries Biology and Genetics from the same university . At present I am working as Lecturer, Department of Fisheries and Marine Science of Noakhali Science and Technology University,Bangladesh. I have to deliver lecture on Fish Physiology, Aquaculture, Aquatic Ecology, Fish Genetics. I am interested to commence my Masters leading doctorat degree under your university. I want to do research work in fish. This will be a great help for my country and me as well. If any opportunity in your university in that field please inform me in detail. I want to complete my higher study under your supervision. Please consider me as your student. Please help me to fulfill my desire and to continue my higher study in your university.
    Please help me.
    I am waiting for your kind reply.
    If any opportunity in this subject , please reply me as early as possible.

    Thanking you.
    Sincerely yours
    Md. Rakeb-Ul-Islam
    Lecturer
    Department of Fisheries and Marine Science
    Noakhali Science and Technology University
    Bangladesh

  3. Kindly , I would like to inform you that, I am Tanzanian. I have degree in Aquatic Environment and Conservation from the University of Dar es salaam. Currently I am enged with Ministry of Livestock Development and Fisheries as Fisheries Biolgist. I have an experiance on marine research as well as fresh water research.

    my concern was that, I wish to have scholarship for Msc in Marine Biodeversity


Leave a Reply

Categories

